|    Screen Reader Access  |   A+ A A- |       |  

Press Release

SNDT Women’s University, Mumbai
Post-Centennial Foundation day 2017
Press Release Post-Centennial Foundation Day 2017 July 5, 2017 Mumbai



Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women’s University (SNDT WU) completed 101 years today. The celebrations of Centennial year had begun since July 2014 and this brings to an end of the centennial celebrations with three programmes across three campuses of the university.

Churchgate programme will be held at the Sir Sitaram and Lady Shantabai Patkar Deekshant Sabhagriha at 11am. Shri. Vinod Tawde, Honourable Minister for Higher and technical education, School Education & Sports, Youth welfare, Minority Development, Marathi Bhasha & culture, Government of Maharashtra will be the Chief Guest of the function. Shri Sudhir Thackersey, chairman Emeritus- Hindoostan Mills Ltd. Will be the guest of honour. Maharshi Kurve uttkrusht shikshketar purskar will also be awarded to two teaching and two non-teaching employees of the university.

Pune Campus programme will be held on 6th July at 10.30 am where Dr Dhanraj Mane, Director Higher Education will be the chief guest. Shri Rajesh Pande, President National Yuva Cooperative Society and Director Telematic Comsee Pvt Ltd will be Guest of Honour. Dr Anand Karve, Founder Appropriate Rural Technologies and Ms Vishvanjali Gaikawad, IAS are special invitees.

Juhu campus programme has been organized in form of tree plantation on 7th July at 10.30am. Dr Kishor Kshirsagar, Deputy Municipal Commissioner, Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation will be the chief guest and Shri Harish G Jamthe Divisional Labour Welfare officer will be the guest of honour.

Honourable Vice Chancellor Prof. Shashikala Wanjari will preside over all the three programmes. She will be launching Bhai Duj nidhi Scheme in the memory of the founder Shri Sir Vithaldas Thackersy at the Churchgate programme. The 2017-18 Nidhi is being proposed with minimum of 25,000 Rs. Donation from any person which will be used for the economically poor women students for scholarship, research support, hostel or mess bills to support their higher education