|    Screen Reader Access  |   A+ A A- |       |  


Birth of an Institution

In year 1916, Maharshi Karve laid down the foundation for Women's Empowerment. Institute started with the name - The Indian Women's University.


Annual Convocation

Mahatma Gandhi presided over the Annual Convocation.Sardar Patel,Netaji Subhash,Sarojini Naidu were in the distinguished gathering.


Silver Jubilee

Dr.Radhakrishnan presided the Silver Jubilee Function.


Statutory Recognition

The University received statutory recognition. Lady Pramila Thackersey became the first Vice Chancellor of the Statutory University. The Institute name changed to Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey (SNDT) Women's University.


Bharat Ratna to the Founder

Government of India Conferred Bharat Ratna on Maharshi, the Founder.


Golden Jubilee

Late Smt.Indira Gandhi,then Prime Minister, presided over the Golden Jubliee function.


Diamond Jubilee

Dr.Shankar Dayal Sharma released special Commemoration Stamp to mark the Diamond Jubliee.


Platinum Jubilee

Torch Run Relay on Platinum Jubilee Celebration.